web analytics

2011 Grand National Winner




The 164th renewal of the world’s most famous steeplechase got underway at 4:15 pm on Saturday 9th April 2011. The Grand National winner was 14/1 shot Ballabriggs, jockeyed by Jason Maguire, owned by Trevor Hemmings and trained by Donald McCain Jr. A maximum field of 40 runners battled it out for a share of the £950,000 prize fund and nineteen made it past the finishing post, the winner managing to complete the circuit in a time of 9 minutes 1.2 seconds, this being the second-fastest ever time in the history of the Grand National.

All entries for the 2011 Grand National had to be made by 2nd February 2011 and on this date there were a total of 102 runners entered for consideration, including 34 Irish-trained horses. The final 40 runners for the 2011 Grand National were confirmed on 7th April and none of the four reserves were required on the day.

The BBC provided live coverage of the Grand National on TV for the 52nd consecutive year although this would turn out to be the penultimate time that they would hold live television rights. A huge crowd of 70,291 thronged the grandstands and terraces on Grand National day and 153,583 attended throughout the three days of the meeting, this beating the previous record of 151,660 which was set in 2005. An estimated £300 million was placed on the 2011 Grand National and it was reckoned that around half of the UK population had placed some sort of bet on the race, either with the bookmakers or on a sweepstake.




Finishing Order


1:  Ballabriggs

2:  Oscar Time

3:  Don’t Push It

4:  State Of Play

5:  Niche Market

6:  The Midnight Club

7:  Big Fella Thanks

8:  Surface To Air

9:  Skippers Brig

10: Backstage