web analytics

2015 Grand National Winner

Many Clouds



The 168th running of the Grand National took place on 11th April 2015, a field of 39 runners battling it out for a share of the £1 million prize fund. The 2015 renewal of the world-famous steeplechase was won by Oliver Sherwood-trained Many Clouds who was 2015 Grand National winner, jockey Leighton Aspell guiding the runner to a 1 3/4 length victory over second-placed Saint Are.

Aspell thus became the first jockey to win the Grand National in successive years since Brian Fletcher aboard Red Rum in 1973 and 1974.

The 2015 race was sponsored by Crabbies for the second year and was broadcast live on Channel 4 and BBC Radio.

This was the second Grand National win in succession for jockey Leighton Aspell who had been aboard 2014 winner Pineau De Re. 2015 victor Many Clouds was owned by Trevor Hemmings who also won the race in 2005 and 2011.

TV coverage was once again provided by Channel 4 who had owned the rights to air the famous steeplechase since 2012. The closing of entries for the 2015 Grand National was on 3rd February and on the following morning 98 entrants were announced, well down from the record number of 115 which were received for the previous year’s race.

The final 40 runners were announced on 9th April and Carlito Brigante was subsequently declared to be a non-runner, thus reducing the race to 39 horses.

Aspell became the first jockey to win the race on two successive occasions since Brian Fletcher steered the famous Red Rum to victory over forty years previous. Saint Are finished second while Monbeg Dude and Alvarado came in third and fourth respectively.




Finishing Order


1:  Many Clouds

2:  Saint Are

3:  Monbeg Dude

4:  Alvarado

5:  Shutthefrontdoor

6:  Royale Knight

7:  Tranquil Sea

8:  Cause Of Causes

9:  Soll

10: Chance Du Roy