web analytics

2021 Grand National Winner


Covid-19 was still a huge factor in the 2021 Randox Grand National and due to the continued pandemic, the entire three-day meeting was held behind closed doors with attendance restricted to racecourse staff, officials, emergency services, jockeys, handlers and veterinary staff. This was the 173rd running of the famous steeplechase and the prize fund was down from £1 million (in 2019) to £750,000.

History was made when Minella Times won for Henry de Bromhead, the jockey Rachael Blackmore becoming the first female ever to ride a winner in the race. This was also the first win in the steeplechase for handler Henry de Bromhead and he also trained second-placed Balko Des Flos.

The 2021 Grand National was somewhat overshadowed by the death of Prince Phillip which was announced the day before the National. This didn’t affect the meeting which continued as scheduled, however tributes included two minutes silences before racing, the union jack on the Queen Mother Stand being lowered to half mast and jockeys sporting black armbands.

The race was once again shown on free-to-air terrestrial TV in the United Kingdom and this year’s event was broadcast lie by ITV for the fourth year in succession. The TV coverage was provided by Francesca Cumani and Ed Chamberlin, while analysis came from former National-winning jockeys Mick Fitzgerald and Sir Anthony McCoy. Ruby Walsh also made contributions by remote link.

Due to the death of Prince Phillip, coverage of Day Two (Ladies’ Day) of the meeting was moved across to ITV4 with no advertisement breaks.

On February 3rd, 106 entries for the race were announced with the early ante-post favourite, 2018 and 2019 winner Tiger Roll, being withdrawn from contention at the initial scratching stage due to a perceived excessive weight allocation. After this withdrawal, Cloth Cap became favourite in the markets in the lead-up to the race.


Finishing Order



1:  Minella Times

2:  Balko Des Flos

3:  Any Second Now

4:  Burrows Saint

5:  Farclas

6:  Blaklion

7:  Discorama

8:  Jett

9:  Cabaret Queen

10: Shattered Love