• freebetting
  • Grand National Past Winners

    Grand National Past Winners

    The Grand National never fails to provide the viewer with a thrilling spectacle and this is reflected in the massive worldwide viewing figures for what is without a doubt the most famous horse race on the planet. This marathon has been run every year since 1839 (with the exception of 1941-1945 and 2020), however throughout this time, only one horse has won three times, this being the infamous Red Rum in 1973, 1974 and 1977. Indeed very few runners have won twice with the most recent example being Tiger Roll which triumphed in 2018 and 2019, the Gordon Elliott-trained horse being denied the chance to win three times in succession following the cancellation of the 2020 race.

    The Grand National course itself is 4 miles 514 yards long and involves 30 gruelling fences, the highest of these being The Chair at 5ft 2 inches. There can be little doubt that the course is the most gruelling around, not only in the UK but throughout the world. Nevertheless it is very unusual for most horses not to finish and many of the 40 runners make it past the finishing post with their riders still on their backs.

    The first winner of the Grand National was a horse called Lottery which triumphed in 1839 and we have compiled a list of all the winners of the world-famous steeplechase since the turn of the millennium. Not only that but we have also provided links so that you can watch each of the last 20 Grand Nationals.


    Year Winner Age Weight Jockey Trainer SP Video
    2020 Potters Corner 10 10-06 Jack Tudor Christian Williams 18/1 PLAY
    2019 Tiger Roll 9 11-05 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 4/1F PLAY
    2018 Tiger Roll 8 10-13 Davy Russell Gordon Elliott 10/1 PLAY
    2017 One For Arthur 8 10-11 Derek Fox Lucinda V Russell 14/1 PLAY
    2016 Rule The World 9 10-07 David Mullins Mouse Morris 33/1 PLAY
    2015 Many Clouds 8 11-09 Leighton Aspell Oliver Sherwood 25/1 PLAY
    2014 Pineau De Re 11 10-06 Leighton Aspell Richard Newland 25/1 PLAY
    2013 Auroras Encore 11 10-03 Ryan Mania Sue Smith 66/1 PLAY
    2012 Neptune Collonges 11 11-06 Daryl Jacob Paul Nicholls 33/1 PLAY
    2011 Ballabriggs 10 11-00 Jason Maguire Donald McCain, Jr. 14/1 PLAY
    2010 Don’t Push It 10 11-05 Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill 10/1 JF PLAY
    2009 Mon Mome 9 11-00 Liam Treadwell Venetia Williams 100/1 PLAY
    2008 Comply Or Die 9 10-09 Timmy Murphy David Pipe 7/1 JF PLAY
    2007 Silver Birch 10 10-06 Robbie Power Gordon Elliott 33/1 PLAY
    2006 Numbersixvalverde 10 10-08 Niall Madden Martin Brassil 11/1 PLAY
    2005 Hedgehunter 9 11-01 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 7/1 F PLAY
    2004 Amberleigh House 12 10-10 Graham Lee Ginger McCain 16/1 PLAY
    2003 Monty’s Pass 10 10-7 Barry Geraghty Jimmy Mangan 16/1 PLAY
    2002 Bindaree 8 10-04 Jim Culloty Nigel Twiston-Davies 20/1 PLAY
    2001 Red Marauder 11 10-11 Richard Guest Norman Mason 33/1 PLAY
    2000 Papillon 9 10-12 Ruby Walsh Ted Walsh 10/1 PLAY